VadeLab

Benefits & Social Security

Benefits & Social Security judgments from Canadian courts and tribunals, with a plain-English summary, the legal holding and frequently asked questions.

DismissedCivil Resolution Tribunal (British Columbia) — Accident Benefits·May 22, 2026

Claimant's Request for Income Replacement Benefits Rejected

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·May 20, 2026

CPP Disability Pension Appeal Denied: Claimant Not Eligible

A woman who worked as an educational assistant applied for a a person (a person) disability pension due to various health issues but was denied on appeal. She argued her conditions made it impossible to work, but the tribunal found she had not proven severe and prolonged disability by December 2025.

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·May 20, 2026

CPP Disability Pension Appeal Overturned Due to Insufficient Proof of Severe Disability

The Social Security Tribunal of Canada overturned a lower court's decision, determining that a claimant did not meet the criteria for receiving a CPP Disability Pension. The claimant failed to prove that her disabilities were severe and prolonged by the required date.

DismissedFederal Court·May 19, 2026

Federal Court dismisses CRB eligibility challenge based on income tax records

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·May 19, 2026

CPP Disability Pension Denied for 64-Year-Old Due to Insufficient Proof of Severe Disability

A person applied for a a person disability pension after suffering heart attacks but was denied. They appealed this decision, arguing their conditions prevented work. The tribunal dismissed the appeal because they couldn't prove their disabilities were severe and prolonged enough to prevent them from working in any job that could earn a living.

Allowed in PartFederal Court·May 19, 2026

Federal Court Upholds CERB Decision, Declares CRB Unfair

The Federal Court upheld the Canada Revenue Agency's decision to deny CERB benefits, finding it reasonable and procedurally fair. However, the Court declared the denial of CRB benefits unfair because the claimant was not given a fair opportunity to respond.

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·May 19, 2026

CPP Disability Pension Appeal Dismissed Due to Lack of Severe Disability

DismissedCivil Resolution Tribunal (British Columbia) — Accident Benefits·May 19, 2026

Claimant's Accident Benefit Claims Dismissed as Moot

RefusedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Canada Pension Plan)·May 18, 2026

Claimant Denied Permission to Appeal Credit Split Case

The claimant tried to get permission to appeal a decision denying her credit split application, arguing that she wasn't aware of the four-year deadline and that the hearing should have been postponed. The appeal was denied because she couldn't show new evidence or a valid reason to overturn the original decision.

RefusedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Canada Pension Plan)·May 18, 2026

Claimant Denied Permission to Appeal CPP Credit Split Decision

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·May 15, 2026

Disability Pension Eligibility Upheld for Claimant with Severe and Prolonged Condition

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·May 15, 2026

Claimant’s CPP Disability Pension Appeal Rejected by SSTC

A person appealed the decision denying their eligibility for a person (a person) disability benefits and post-retirement disability benefit (PRDB). Despite having bipolar disorder, insomnia, anxiety, and joint pain, the tribunal found that the claimant did not provide enough evidence to prove they were unable to a person in any substantially gainful occupation.

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·May 15, 2026

Claimant's Appeal for Continued CPP Disability Benefits Successful

The claimant successfully appealed the Minister's decision to terminate their a person disability benefits. Despite working limited hours for a a person who provided significant accommodations, the Tribunal ruled that the claimant remained eligible for disability support due to persistent health issues.

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·May 15, 2026

CPP Disability Appeal Dismissed Due to Insufficient Proof of Severe Disability

DismissedFederal Court·May 15, 2026

Federal Court Upholds Denial of CRBA Benefits Due to Lack of Documentation

The Federal Court upheld the Canada Revenue Agency's decision to deny CRBA benefits to a claimant because the claimant failed to provide adequate documentation proving both the minimum income requirement and the income reduction requirement related to COVID-19.

DismissedFederal Court·May 14, 2026

Federal Court Rejects Disability Entitlement Claim

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Employment Insurance)·May 14, 2026

Employment Insurance Appeal Allowed Due to Legal Error

A person appealed a decision denying their employment insurance (EI) benefits after quitting a job without just cause. The Appeal Division agreed that the initial decision did not properly consider all relevant factors, such as working conditions and harassment, leading to an error of law by the General Division. As a result, the case was referred back for reconsideration.

AllowedFederal Court·May 14, 2026

Federal Court Overturns Unreasonable Decision on CERB Eligibility

RefusedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Canada Pension Plan)·May 14, 2026

Social Security Tribunal Denies Leave to Appeal on CPP Pension

A retiree applied for leave to appeal a decision about her CPP pension but was denied. The Social Security Tribunal found no new evidence and no errors by the General Division, which had dismissed her initial appeal due to insufficient proof of fraud.

RefusedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Canada Pension Plan)·May 14, 2026

Claimant Denied Permission to Appeal CPP Pension Adjustment

A 69-year-old retiree tried to appeal the denial of her Canada Pension Plan (CPP) pension adjustment. She claimed that her pension was reduced due to fraudulent deductions. However, the Appeal Division denied her request for permission to appeal because she did not provide new evidence or identify any errors in the original decision.

← PreviousPage 10 · 656 judgmentsNext →