VadeLab

Benefits & Social Security

Benefits & Social Security judgments from Canadian courts and tribunals, with a plain-English summary, the legal holding and frequently asked questions.

RefusedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Canada Pension Plan)·Jun 17, 2026

Claimant Granted Time Extension But Denied Permission To Appeal CPP Decision

The claimant applied for an extension of time to appeal a decision denying survivor's pension and child’s benefit under the a person (a person). The application was a person, but an extension was granted due to reasonable explanation. However, permission to appeal was denied as no arguable case or new evidence was presented.

Allowed in PartSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Employment Insurance)·Jun 17, 2026

Partial Allowance of Appeal on EI Job Search Exception

In this case, the Social Security Tribunal partially allowed an appeal about Employment Insurance (a person) benefits. A legal error was corrected regarding the claimant's eligibility during her November/December trip outside Canada. The decision clarified that job search and interview exceptions cannot be combined for a single trip.

Allowed in PartSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Employment Insurance)·Jun 17, 2026

Social Security Tribunal Corrects Legal Error in Employment Insurance Benefits

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Employment Insurance)·Jun 16, 2026

Claimant Denied EI Benefits After Voluntarily Quitting Her Job

DismissedFederal Court·Jun 16, 2026

Federal Court Rejects Challenge to CERB Eligibility Decision

The Federal Court dismissed a challenge to the Canada Revenue Agency's decision regarding a student's eligibility for the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB). The court ruled that the student did not meet the eligibility requirements under the statutory scheme, including the Canada Emergency Student Benefit Act and the Certain Emergency Response Benefits Remission Order.

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Employment Insurance)·Jun 16, 2026

Appeal Allowed: Employment Insurance Availability for Work Decision

DismissedFederal Court·Jun 16, 2026

Federal Court Rejects Challenge to CERB Eligibility Decision

The Federal Court dismissed a challenge to a decision on eligibility for the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB). The court ruled that since the claimant did not apply for alternative benefits, such as the a person or Remission Order, there was no need for the officer's decision to consider these options.

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Employment Insurance)·Jun 16, 2026

Claimant Loses Appeal Over Voluntary Resignation and Pension Benefits

A person who voluntarily quit their job to retire and receive a government pension was denied Employment Insurance (EI) benefits by both the General Division and the Appeal Division of the Social Security Tribunal. The claimant argued an error in determining which pension they wanted, but this was not supported by evidence before the tribunal.

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·Jun 15, 2026

CPP Disability Appeal Dismissed for Untimely Filing and Lack of New Evidence

The Social Security Tribunal dismissed a claimant's appeal of a General Division decision regarding CPP Disability. The appeal was dismissed due to untimely filing and the lack of new evidence relevant to the appeal's issues.

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Old Age Security / GIS)·Jun 15, 2026

SST Canada Rules Immigrant Eligible for Partial OAS Pension

An immigrant from India who moved to Canada in 2014 and has spent more time here than abroad successfully appealed a decision denying him an Old Age Security (OAS) pension. The Social Security Tribunal ruled he is eligible for partial OAS benefits, reflecting the importance of residency duration.

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Old Age Security / GIS)·Jun 15, 2026

Eligibility for Partial Old Age Security Pension Confirmed

RefusedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·Jun 15, 2026

CPP Disability Appeal Denied: No Arguable Case or Relevant New Evidence

A person appealed a decision that denied their a person (a person) disability pension, arguing they were still disabled in 2022 despite returning to work. The Social Security Tribunal extended the time for filing but dismissed the appeal due to insufficient evidence and lack of an arguable case.

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·Jun 15, 2026

Disability Pension Eligibility Denied Due to Loss of Severe Disability

The Social Security Tribunal of Canada ruled that the claimant's disability ceased to be severe as of December 2018, making her ineligible for further disability pension payments. The Tribunal based its decision on the claimant's demonstrated capacity for substantially gainful work.

DismissedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·Jun 15, 2026

CPP Disability Appeal Dismissed: Claimant Regained Work Capacity

A person appealing a decision to end their a person (a person) disability benefits was unsuccessful. The Social Security Tribunal found they had regained the ability to do meaningful work by December 2018, even though they worked for a partner's business with flexible hours and no formal accommodations.

Allowed in PartSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (Employment Insurance)·Jun 12, 2026

Claimant's Appeal Partially Allowed: Errors Corrected

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·Jun 12, 2026

CPP Disability Pension Awarded for Severe Work Injuries

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·Jun 12, 2026

Claimant Wins CPP Disability Pension Appeal Against Minister

A worker who suffered from severe upper body injuries while working in the a person successfully appealed for a a person a person pension against the Minister. The tribunal found that the worker's condition prevented them from performing any kind of regular, remunerative work due to their injuries and age.

DismissedFederal Court·Jun 11, 2026

Federal Court rejects CERB eligibility challenge

The Federal Court dismissed an application for judicial review of a decision denying eligibility for the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB). The court ruled that the applicant had not provided enough evidence to prove they met the income requirement of at least $5,000 in the relevant period.

DismissedFederal Court·Jun 11, 2026

Federal Court Rejects Judicial Review of CRA Decision on CERB, CRB & CRSB

The Federal Court dismissed an application by a self-represented litigant challenging the Canada Revenue Agency’s (a person) decision regarding eligibility for CERB, CRB, and CRSB. The court found that the a person process was fair and its decision reasonable based on the evidence provided.

AllowedSocial Security Tribunal of Canada (CPP Disability)·Jun 11, 2026

Claimant Wins CPP Disability Pension Appeal Due to Severe Knee Injury

A person who applied for a a person disability pension after injuring their knee while playing soccer won their appeal. The tribunal found that the claimant's knee injury prevented them from working regularly since June 2011, making them eligible for the disability pension.

← PreviousPage 4 · 656 judgmentsNext →
Benefits & Social Security — Case law | VadeLab